Effective immediately, DCA is extending by 60 days licenses for Respiratory Care Practitioners.
The licensure actions announced today by Attorney General Grewal pertain only to licenses issued by the professional boards that require renewals or resubmission in the coming weeks.
Registered Respiratory Therapist Credential Required
Effective July 21, 2017
Enacted by the Senate and General Assembly of the State of New Jersey - N.J.A.C.45:14E-15 - Issuance of License.
The Board shall issue a license to perform respiratory care to an applicant, who, at the time of the effective date of this act, has passed the Registered Respiratory Therapist examination offered by the National Board for Respiratory Care, or by a successor organization.
The Board determined that, anyone who has applied for licensure, prior to the date of the statute, July 21, 2017, will be licensed under the prior rules and regulation.
The State Board of Respiratory Care was created by the provisions of the Respiratory Care Practitioner Act of 1991. This board licenses and regulates respiratory therapists in New Jersey.
Respiratory care is the health specialty involving the treatment, disease management, control, and care of patients with deficiencies and abnormalities of the cardiac and pulmonary system. Respiratory care practitioners administer oxygen and other medical gases to patients and perform treatments and tests under the supervision of doctors. View the full scope of practice on the board website.
If you need a copy of your respiratory care (respiratory therapist) license please contact the board.
The application for NJ licensure can be obtained on the licensing board website. The application includes instructions and check list to follow as you complete the application. Note all the fees associated with licensure and note the prorating fee based on application year.
The State Board of Respiratory Care posted proposed rule changes on August 6. These changes address several areas of respiratory care. These proposed changes do not reflect the law that was sign by Governor Christie in July 2017. The proposed changes are a cumulation of several different areas within our regulations, such as, delegation of […]Read More
Registered Respiratory Therapist Credential Required Effective July 21, 2017 as enacted by the Senate and General Assembly of the State of New Jersey – N.J.A.C.45:14E-15 – Issuance of License. The Board shall issue a license to perform respiratory care to an applicant, who, at the time of the effective date of this act, has passed […]Read More
The NJ State Licensing Board has proposed a rule change amending the requirement for a follow-up visit by a respiratory care practitioner within 24 hours of home delivery of nebulizer compressors, concentrators, and medical gas cylinders. This change was originally proposed in July 2016 but as a result of comments provided by the NJSRC board […]Read More